Skip to content

Advanced Encryption Standard

Osman Husain Apr 10, 2023 3:56:09 PM

Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) is a symmetric key encryption algorithm. The AES standards were adopted by the U.S. government and are used by the U.S. Defense Department and other government agencies to secure sensitive data. AES was adopted in December 2001 as the federal government's official standard for information protection and data integrity, including confidential personal and financial information.

The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) is a cryptographic algorithm that can be used to encrypt and decrypt information. It was developed by two Belgian cryptologists, Joan Daemen and Vincent Rijmen, who submitted their proposal to NIST in 1997.

The U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) selected AES as an official Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) in November 2001 after a five-year public competition to develop a replacement for its earlier Data Encryption Standard (DES).

Osman Husain

Osman is the content lead at Enzuzo. He has a background in data privacy management via a two-year role at ExpressVPN and extensive freelance work with cybersecurity and blockchain companies. Osman also holds an MBA from the Toronto Metropolitan University.

Leave a Comment